Friday, March 24, 2017

2017 Shelley Award Recognizes Advocacy Pioneers

Governor's Arts Awards


2017 Shelley Award Recognizes
Advocacy Pioneers




The Shelley Award, named after former Arizona Commission on the Arts Executive Director Shelley Cohn, is presented annually to recognize individuals who have advanced Arizona arts and culture through strategic and innovative leadership to create and support public policy beneficial to the arts in Arizona. This year as we mark the 50th anniversary of the National Endowment for the Arts and the Arizona Commission on the Arts, the Shelley Award will recognize a group of individuals – Pioneers of Advocacy – whose dedicated work on behalf of arts and culture during the formative years of arts advocacy in Arizona helped create the vibrant arts and culture environment we enjoy today. 

The Pioneers of Advocacy are:

Dino & Beth Murfee DeConcini, Tucson 
Katie Dusenberry, Tucson
Shirley Estes, Tucson
Terry Goddard, Phoenix
Myra Millinger, Phoenix
Gene Polk, Prescott
Kim Sterling-Heflin, Phoenix
Richard and Linda Whitney, Phoenix




The Pioneers of Advocacy  will be recognized on
Thursday, May 4, during a gala dinner event at the Phoenician Resort, Scottsdale as part of the Governor's Arts Awards presentation.





Buy your table for the 2017 Governor's Arts Awards Gala now



Purchase Tickets or a Table

Purchase an Ad in the Program

Purchase a full or half page ad in the commemorative program. Advertise your organization, performance season, upcoming special event or pay tribute to the finalists and the inaugural Philanthropy Honoree.





          Presenting Sponsor






Nominee Reception Sponsor






Evening Program Sponsor






Artist Awards Sponsor






Entertainment & Video Sponsor






Finalist Award & Centerpiece Sponsor




Arizona Citizens for the Arts

420 W Roosevelt Rd Suite 208

Phoenix, AZ 85003


Tucson Theatre Announcements List

Subscription information at



No comments: